Watermelon Radish Salad

 

watermelon radish

Watermelon radish straight from the farmer’s market.

The first time I saw watermelon radishes was at the New Hope farmer’s market in Pennsylvania. I literally stopped in my tracks at the sight of one split in half. The pink centers are so vibrant against the pale, creamy green outside. I’m pretty sure I bought them from Gravity Hill Farm. They rock because they aren’t too peppery–I’d even go as far as to say they are kind of sweet. Plus the colors.

They are a type of daikon radish. And when you have your fancy friends over, you can tell them they’re eating an heirloom variety. How’s that grab you?

4 ounces radish cut into bite-size sticks
1 lime
1 tablespoon extra virgin olive oil
1 tablespoon chopped cilantro (At least. Unless you don’t like cilantro. In which case, I’m so sorry.)
Salt and pepper to taste

Zest and juice the lime over the radish. Add oil and cilantro. Stir to coat radish. Taste. Add salt and pepper. Taste again.

The color will start to run, so I suggest tossing this just before serving. It goes well with grilled proteins. You could use other types of radish, I suppose. I just really like the look of this type. I don’t recommend cooking them. The color will be ruined by cooking. Cook with those cheap, little red ones that come in the sealed bags.

Ever had a watermelon radish? Do you like radishes? Ever had cooked radish?

watermelon radish salad

Tangy, crunchy, radish salad.

Leave a Reply

