Eggnog and Amaretto Jello Shots and Maple Egg Cream

So. I got a new job in August…and it has been kicking my butt. It is a really great opportunity and I love it. And now that I don’t collapse on the couch because I can’t make it to my room every night. And now that I have a handle on it, I will be back to posting regularly. Yay!

Today I am going to give you two simple holiday cocktail/drink recipes.

The first is a Maple Egg Cream. An egg cream is made with soda water, frothed milk and a flavoring—usually chocolate or vanilla. In this rendition, I used Jim Beam Maple for the flavoring and a little kick.

Sweet and creamy maple egg cream made with Jim Beam Maple.

Sweet and creamy maple egg cream made with Jim Beam Maple.

Ingredients for one drink: 1 oz Jim Beam Maple

ice as needed

¼ cup whole milk

soda water as needed

cinnamon to garnish

Put ice and pour Jim Beam Maple in glass.

Shake milk until foamy.

Pour soda water over the ice and Jim Beam, leaving room at the top for the milk foam.

Top with the milk foam and a sprinkle of cinnamon.

I am not actually sure if this qualifies as a cocktail or drink. But here it is any how.

Eggnog and Amaretto Jello Shots with Rum Pearls

Eggnog and Amaretto Jello shots topped with freshly grated nutmeg and rum pearls.

Eggnog and Amaretto Jello shots topped with freshly grated nutmeg and rum pearls.

For twelve shots:

1 cup eggnog

¾ cup amaretto

1 packet unflavored gelatin (I used Knox)

nutmeg to garnish

Heat gelatin just until it comes to a boil. Sprinkle the gelatin over the top and let sit for a few minutes until it blooms. You will know the gelatin has bloomed because the eggnog will not have a smooth texture any more. Stir to dissolve the gelatin.

Stir in the amaretto.

Portion into shot glasses and chill in the refrigerator for at least five hours.

Top with grated nutmeg and rum pearls if you felt like making them.

For the rum pearls: Check out this discussion thread for the recipe I followed.

Leave a Reply

